late night ramblings, to no one in particular

The difference between you and me is that right now it’s midnight and you’re drunk and I’m sending off professional emails. That’s not to say that I think I’m better than you. I don’t think that at all.

I just don’t know if two people can be so different and still be compatible. During daylight, I feel as though we are the same. There are still clear differences between us. We’re not the same in the way we speak or walk or whatever else. But when every aspect of us comes together to create who we are, we are the same. We’re like that quote from Wuthering Heights: “Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

And maybe that’s all we need. Maybe midnight can look different for us and yet we can still be the same.

I’m most likely not going to meet someone else who sends professional emails at midnight. And if I do, that person will probably annoy me. Some of your characteristics annoy me. That’s inevitable. But you don’t annoy me. You don’t, even when you do.

Maybe that’s what relationships are built off of; the idea that a person can annoy you yet still not annoy you. A person can be completely different from you yet still make you feel like you have a true connection. Maybe our differences make us the same. And maybe the fact that I like you and you annoy me and it’s midnight makes me say things that don’t make sense at all.

2 thoughts on “late night ramblings, to no one in particular

Leave a Reply

