the downfalls of being “shy”

I’ve always hated the word “shy.” Maybe I used to be a bit shy, but still, I didn’t like the word. “Shy” is the kind of word that sticks with you, no matter how much you overcome. I can still be reserved and soft spoken, but the word “shy” implies that I don’t speak up. That I don’t say what I mean to say.
And I do. Maybe not in the way that some people do, but I do.

Sometimes, though, that shy girl of my past inevitably creeps back into my life. Normally, I don’t let my fears stop me. I don’t let go of opportunities. I try my hardest to take chances.

But recently, I had a phone interview. I can talk to people in person just fine, but I really don’t like talking on the phone. I can’t stand not seeing people’s facial expressions and actions. So I seriously considered not answering my phone for this interview, all because I was afraid. All because I don’t like talking on the phone. All because I was afraid of my own words; the words that I express to the world every day through my writing.

I realized that my fears seemed ridiculous, but even so, I couldn’t help but feel sick. I debated about it over and over again; I could just not answer.

But then I asked myself what I’ve been asking myself a lot lately:

what would you regret more: taking this call, or not taking it?

Worded that way, the answer was obvious. I had to take it. I had to take the chance.
Because maybe I’ll make a complete fool of myself sometimes. Maybe people won’t agree with me or understand me or like me.
But if I don’t take the chance, in the back of my mind, I’ll always wonder what would have happened if I tried?

Sometimes, I’ll try then fail. I’ll get the answer I didn’t want. But I won’t have to guess; I’ll have the answer.

Right now, I don’t know how the interview went, really.
But I do know that I’m glad I took the call. And truly, that’s the answer that matters.

Dream big,

Paige

2 thoughts on “the downfalls of being “shy”

    • Thank you so much! It’s hard to overcome; I will always be an introvert and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that, but I’ve learned to stop letting it get in the way of what I truly want. I’m still learning, though, and the shy girl in me reveals herself at some times more than others. I’m glad that this inspired you and I’m looking forward to reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

