my documentary

If you’ve read my blog before, you probably know about my obsession with how people document things and how that’s changed. You probably know that I love my journal and that I’m still working to make this blog mean just as much. The problem with that is that I don’t want to give the whole world (not that the whole world will read this) my whole story. I guess I’m old fashioned in the sense that I want people to make an effort to get to know me; I don’t want them to have immediate access to all that I am.

I see stories everywhere and that’s originally why I started this blog: to shy away from the obvious. To just give hints. That seems like some sort of artsy movie thing to do, and that’s okay, because I love artsy movies. I’ve always been fascinated by how photographs and film capture stories, but I’ve never mastered telling stories in those forms.

I’m not trying to be artsy with this blog. I’m just trying to be real and not obvious. I’m just trying to document things in a new way. I love exploring the ways in which this becomes possible, so I have no idea why, of all social networking sites, I decided to avoid Instagram up until today.

Instagram is a not-so-obvious way to tell stories. To give snippets. To portray something worth pondering. To inspire people. To connect for a vague reason. To be connected by something as simple as a picture, even if people interpret that picture differently. 

I love those kinds of connections. I love being inspired as much as I love inspiring people. And when used a certain way, Instagram doesn’t inhibit us from connecting with people or telling meaningful stories. It gives us a new way to do exactly that. 

Instagram is a place where I can post the pictures I take when traveling; the pictures of little things that intrigue me but don’t quite make sense; the pictures that don’t quite belong on Facebook or even on my blog, because I don’t want to explain them to people. I want people to find meaning on their own. It’s a place where I can post the pictures of things that make me happy. Simple things. It’s a place where I can post the photographs that I take but don’t know why. The photographs that I have left on my camera or on my phone. The photographs that I look at again and again but still can’t quite describe; I can only feel what they mean to me.

And if a social networking site can express feelings, that’s something so powerful. “Kids these days” may be using the internet constantly. But it’s unfair to say that it means they’re not telling stories or connecting or learning. The internet can still display meaning; it’s just a different kind.

I want to keep this blog and write in my journal and use Instagram. They all tell different parts of my story. They all make me think in different ways and hopefully make others think in different ways too.

One medium is not less important than the other; they’re all simply different. They’re all simply beautiful to me.

The story isn’t over; It’s exploring new places.  

 

I want to explore. 

 

Instagram – @paigeofwords 

 

Dream big,

Paige

Leave a Reply

