Letters to you.

Whenever I start something new, I become so focused on it. I’m passionate about it to the point where it’s practically all I think about. And with a combination of this blog, a new story I started writing, and a new hobby I picked up, it’s pretty clear to me that I should probably be spending more time on my homework. But when I have something to write, I write. At this very moment, I have a ton of other things I should be doing aside from blogging. It’s been so long since I’ve blogged, though, and I had this desire to write that just wouldn’t go away.

Do you ever have this fearless, anxious feeling when it seems as if you’re about to do something totally crazy yet totally worth it? When you’re at the edge of taking a huge leap of faith, and your heart is full of so much hope that you can hardly sit still? When you’re just so jittery and scared and excited and happy and a little unsure?

On Friday, I wrote love letters to strangers. I got this idea from moreloveletters.com. More Love Letters is such an incredible organization. I started writing love letters because I love to write, and I love to inspire people. I love to spread hope. But also, I started writing love letters because I really, really love getting mail. Nowadays, everyone knows that letters are hard to come by. With texts and emails and blogs, papers and envelopes get forgotten. Letter writing is significant to me because it’s an art form beyond the words on the pages. It’s an art form beyond the sentences and paragraphs. I believe that there is art within the way people dot their “i”s. I believe there is art within the loops and slants of handwriting, within the smudges of ink and the creases of pages. So I gathered up some paper, colorful pens, envelopes, and a sheet of sparkly heart stickers, and made my way to a coffeeshop with one of my best friends.

Image

(a letter written by my friend Kelsey)

To me, the most interesting thing about writing love letters to strangers is the fact that they’re not actually strangers. Not really. Everyone is unique, different, and original. And yet everyone is also a lot alike. Someone out there is feeling the same way as you are. And the fact that we can use letters to spread these messages is truly amazing. You won’t know who finds the letter. The person who finds the letter won’t know who wrote it. Somehow, that makes it even better. It makes it even better knowing that someone who doesn’t even know you understands you and believes in you.

Image

(a letter written by me)

With each letter I wrote, I stepped closer to the edge of a mountain. I’m about to leap. I have this idea that’s completely all or nothing. On Taylor Swift’s Speak Now album, she said, “I don’t think you should wait, I think you should speak now.” To me, this refers to so much more than literal speaking. To me, “speaking” means taking chances. Speaking means chasing a dream that perhaps seems a little bit crazy. Speaking means throwing your ideas out into the world, not knowing what kind of response you’ll get. Speaking means doing rather than dreaming, creating rather than imagining. Speaking means taking that leap of faith, stepping from the edge of the mountain and diving in, not knowing whether you’ll fall or soar.

Speaking means doing everything you always dream about doing, but always hesitate to do. Don’t wait. Don’t ponder any longer if it’s something you truly believe in. The clock is ticking, and the world can’t wait to hear your words. ♥

Dream big,

Paige

2 thoughts on “Letters to you.

  1. I just wanted to let you know that I adore your blog. I can identify with your posts, they’re honest and from the heart. I hope you don’t mind that I featured your blog on my own. If it bothers you, I’ll gladly remove the post.

    Looking forward to reading more from you!

    ~KM

Leave a Reply

