Sparkly greeting cards aren’t a waste.

This Christmas, I gave out cards to all of my friends. I tried to give them to people who I don’t talk to often, and to people who I’ve lost touch with. And of course, the people who mean the world to me. As I gave these cards out, I received lots of “thank you”s. But I also had a few people say, “why do you do all of this?”  

And by “all of this”, they mean the sparkly greeting cards and the big bags of candy that I give out for every holiday: Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s Day… the list goes on. 

I do this because my friends deserve it.
Because they’re amazing people who don’t realize just how happy they make me.

I do this because I love writing messages to people. I love inscribing cards with words of love and hope and friendship.

I do this because I want to remind these people just how much they mean to me.

I do this because everyone is loved, but not everyone remembers that.

I don’t give out cards because I want to get cards back. I give out these cards because I truly mean the words I’m saying. And I know that a lot of times, it’s scary to share your feelings. Just handing them to someone, every emotion and every memory, can be extremely daunting. I used to be afraid of it. I used to fear telling people that I loved them, because the words are so powerful and they mean so much and oh my gosh, what if the other person doesn’t love me back? What if someone’s your best friend, and you’re only their friend? What if someone’s the love of your life, and you’re only their friend? What if someone’s your new friend that you love talking to, but you’re only an acquaintance to them?  What if…what if…what if…?

But what if you never tell them what’s in your heart? What if they never know all that they mean to you?

About a year ago, I lost someone who meant the world to me. That was when I realized that saying you love someone is way less scary than never getting the chance to say it at all.

About a year ago, I blew my chances. I’ve vowed to never do that again.

So now, I remember to love. In the midst of my busy life and my stress and every other excuse, I remember to spread love. Because, yes, love is powerful. It’s meaningful and strong and bold and brave and terrifying.  It’s also entirely worth it.  Whatever you do-whether you use letters or hugs or friendship bracelets or anything that expresses how you feel-tell your loved ones that you love them. Be a superhero, and use those powers.

Dream Big,
Paige Sheffield

5 thoughts on “Sparkly greeting cards aren’t a waste.

Leave a Reply

